A Merry (?) Christmas

terrorist_doll

Many in the world are buying Christmas presents for their kids…

When I was small, I had a few guns to play with…

Now, kids can have full virtual environments in which to practice killing…

World-wide, people are killing each other and bloggers are reporting and commenting on it. This post’s intention is to wave a flag of warning about what we teach our children. Also, I want to introduce you to Global Voices. In their own words: “Global Voices aggregates, curates, and amplifies the global conversation online – shining light on places and people other media often ignore.”

Here’s a recent post from the site:

Palestine: Terrorist Dolls Not the Best Stocking Stuffer

Thursday, December 11th, 2008 @ 13:47 UTC

by Maya Norton

This post is also available in:

“What could be more enjoyable for your kids this year than a doll resembling an Al-Qaeda terrorist?” asks Palestinian-American blogger Nawal of Bloggin’ Banat.

“It comes fully accessorized too (which is awesome cause that’ll save you money during this financial crisis). It comes with hand grenades, a pistol, an assault rifle and the all too important rocket launcher (awesome, huh?). And just so you know, there’s a Nazi major figure also. You know, just to even out the indignation.”

Humorous and appalling… The doll is made by BrickArms of Redmond, Washington (USA).

The Spiritual Quote below is addressed to mothers but I want to say a word to fathers:

My dad abused me with his tongue but his  father physically beat him. I found this out when I was in my 30s and it helped me release the hate I had for my dad—helped begin a process I’m still engaged in—freeing myself from the influence my father had on me, well before I could use my mind to counter it—to struggle to stop repeating his less than humane mistakes.

May we all give our children the gifts of love, compassion, understanding, and tolerance . . .

Spiritual Quote :

“Let the mothers consider that whatever concerneth the education of children is of the first importance. Let them put forth every effort in this regard, for when the bough is green and tender it will grow in whatever way ye train it. Therefore is it incumbent upon the mothers to rear their little ones even as a gardener tendeth his young plants. Let them strive by day and by night to establish within their children faith and certitude, the fear of God, the love of the Beloved of the worlds, and all good qualities and traits. Whensoever a mother seeth that her child hath done well, let her praise and applaud him and cheer his heart; and if the slightest undesirable trait should manifest itself, let her counsel the child and punish him, and use means based on reason, even a slight verbal chastisement should this be necessary. It is not, however, permissible to strike a child, or vilify him, for the child’s character will be totally perverted if he be subjected to blows or verbal abuse.”
‘Abdu’l-Bahá, Selections from the Writings of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, p. 125

Please leave Your  thoughts and feelings in the Comments.
Let’s have a conversation !

You can also explore and discuss the ideas of this post at
Our Evolution‘s Forums.

Make It Easy !
Get a Free RSS or Email Subscription
For FREE Subscriptions to our monthly newsletter just send us an email at amzolt{at}gmail{dot}com

15 thoughts on “A Merry (?) Christmas

  1. Hello, Alexander. What a world, when a doll like that is being made! I’d hope that was just some sick joke rather than a real toy, but know it could just as well be real.

    You stopped by and asked was the poem I featured my own. Yes, it is. Fresh today! Thanks for your interest.

  2. Wow Alex this post really hit a soft spot with me because when I saw that picture immediately I thought of what as a society we really are teaching our kids – our future generations. Many people may say “oh its just for fun” – but how is teaching our children violence just for fun? How is desensitizing them to another’s pain and suffering just for fun?

    Personally if I had a child (son especially) I would never ever buy them any toy that in any way shape or form depicted violence. Do not get me wrong I am not judging those that do, I am just stating what I see is right for me.

    I realized over the past few years too that it again like all other things in life comes down to consciousness. 90% of the world lives in a cloud of unconscious thoughts doing what the other does. It is only when we snap out of it, do we see the madness that we are infringing upon ourselves.

  3. Thank you, so much, Evita, for your perceptive and feeling-full ideas!

    My favorite part of your comment was:

    “I realized over the past few years too that it again like all other things in life comes down to consciousness. 90% of the world lives in a cloud of unconscious thoughts doing what the other does. “

  4. This is blogging at its best.
    As Evita says, it is all about making our unconscious thoughts conscious and then observing what we are doing.
    In the ringing cedar series it is described how the current toys make children dumb and encapsulated in our own grown up issues, like this doll.
    We are best to not give children toys but to let them roam in nature as that is where they can find the real toys. A beautiful flower, a tree to climb in, a slope to roll from and that is where their minds are being developed and they learn to think for themselves and question what is going on.
    A toy is limiting the child’s imagination big time.
    I love the fact that our world is being totally turned up side down with great books AND blogs.
    This is a real contribution.
    Thanks Alex.

  5. Wilma!

    I just Love this:

    “We are best to not give children toys but to let them roam in nature as that is where they can find the real toys.”

    Hope you can hook-up with Robin Easton (she comments here, too) ’cause she would Whoop for joy over comments like this!!!

  6. Hi Alex,
    We live in a distorted world. We sell Barbie to little girls who think that a 19 inch waist is attainable and we sell guns to little boys to shoot down any dreams they have.

    We have to embrace that which makes us uncomfortable and turn it back into love. Who says we have to let distortion dictate our views or our ability to love.

  7. Alexys,

    Your Wisdom Shines through your comment:

    “Who says we have to let distortion dictate our views or our ability to love.”

  8. Well, Wilma said it all for me. I agree with her 100%. Fortunately I was blessed to have parents that gave me the most precious gift of all when they took all six of their kids into Nature. We never had the usual games, dolls, guns, etc at Christmas. We often were given craft or creative things, art supplies, etc. Or things that we could use in Nature. I don’t think I ever owned a Barbie doll, in fact I think I only had 3 dolls given to me as a kid. So I know that it makes a huge difference. I was also blessed with parents that taught role reversal in terms of chores. The boys did laundry and dish just like the girls and the girls swept out the garage or helped dad work in the basement or helped shovel snow just like the boys. I think it is really important to look at the messages we are sending our kids through the gifts we give them. It is a powerful opportunity to shape lives.

    Thank you dear Alex for inviting us all to be more aware. And also, thank you Wilma for sharing something that is very dear to my heart. Hugs to you both, Robin

  9. Well, Wilma said it all for me. I agree with her 100%. Fortunately I was blessed to have parents that gave me the most precious gift of all when they took all six of their kids into Nature. We never had the usual games, dolls, guns, etc at Christmas. We often were given craft or creative things, art supplies, etc. Or things that we could use in Nature. I don’t think I ever owned a Barbie doll, in fact I think I only had 3 dolls given to me as a kid. So I know that it makes a huge difference. I was also blessed with parents that taught role reversal in terms of chores. The boys did laundry and dish just like the girls and the girls swept out the garage or helped dad work in the basement or helped shovel snow just like the boys. I think it is really important to look at the messages we are sending our kids through the gifts we give them. It is a powerful opportunity to shape lives.

    Thank you dear Alex for inviting us all to be more aware. And also, thank you Wilma for sharing something that is very dear to my heart. Hugs to you both, Robin

  10. Robin,

    If I believed in reincarnation, I’d say you got the karma out of the way in past lives and are working on the dharma now…

    I praise your parents!!

    I honor you…

    You and Wilma should get together with Catherine and Do something!!!

  11. Alex, you are such a dear. I love this comment of yours. I do know this, that yes, I am dreaming/creating my bliss and every day I move into it more…I become it. I’ve actually never said that anyone until right now. I’ve thought it many times, but your comment here brought it to the fore. Thank you for that gift. You’re the best! Robin

Leave a comment