Who Are The Poor ?

poorAre you poor? Do you know someone who is?

Most of humanity is poor…

Even the richest people on earth run the risk of being poor in spirit.

I want you to contrast your memory of the largest, most exciting event you’ve ever seen (especially if it was in an affluent country)—full of cheering crowds, ecstatic children, thunderous music, and fantastic displays; contrast that with the following video—produced all over the world  and performed by some of the poor majority—then, tell yourself which event is more uplifting to your soul:

Produced by Playing for Change

I can’t help but feel that things like the Superbowl or the Rose Parade or the extravaganza of the recent U. S. Presidential Campaign not only don’t help my soul but probably darken it just a bit…

Our souls need to truly connect with other souls, not through massive productions that worship money and privilege but through events that let us truly participate, even if only to sing along with the video…

Spiritual Quote :

“They who are possessed of riches…must have the utmost regard for the poor, for great is the honor destined by God for those poor who are steadfast in patience. By My life! There is no honor, except what God may please to bestow, that can compare to this honor. Great is the blessedness awaiting the poor that endure patiently and conceal their sufferings, and well is it with the rich who bestow their riches on the needy and prefer them before themselves.”
Bahá’u’lláh, Gleanings from the Writings of Bahá’u’lláh, p. 202

Please leave Your  thoughts and feelings in the Comments.
Let’s have a conversation !

You can also explore and discuss the ideas of this post at
Our Evolution‘s Forums.

Make It Easy !
Get a Free RSS or Email Subscription
For FREE Subscriptions to our monthly newsletter just send us an email at amzolt{at}gmail{dot}com

17 thoughts on “Who Are The Poor ?

  1. Yes Alex your posts are seen, beyond what is here. If we are to remain human we must have compassion and understanding. We must work so all can have a rewarding life, which in turn rewards life.
    Thanks, Bruce

  2. Alex,
    You have done it again. I am so moved by that video that I almost couldn’t see the end of it because I had to wipe tears from my eyes. It is without a doubt a sobering statement that we all need to stand by each other and just because someone is down and out doesn’t mean that they don’t deserve love, compassion or tenderness.

    The whole extravagance of the presidential campaign is a bit much, but don’t let that darken your Soul. Let it give you more impetus to put more love into the world like you have today my friend. You are a wealthy man. A loving man. A giving man. A good man. Let that dictate your actions.

    Thank you for all that you have contributed to this world.

    Happy Holidays and may all of your dreams be fulfilled and your life be filled with peace and love.

  3. Ah, Alexys the Angel…

    You honor me with your words and my soul casts them back to you…

    My tears with the video start when the women in Africa start singing…

  4. Elaine,

    If the poor like you salute the poor like me, we may just end up with all the poor being so spirit-rich this ol’ world will finally listen to Baha’u’llah…

  5. The video is awesome! – surprised it hasn’t gotten on to the wider screen yet. Solomon said “whoever shuts his ears to the cry of the poor will also cry himself and not be heard.” Pro 21:13 – we will always have the poor with us – to give us a choice to serve. It would be interesting to know Alex, of times throughout your life when you were poor that someone reached out to you to show you kindness. Any stories to tell?

  6. Margaret,

    I’ve never mentioned this in the blog but every reply to a comment I make is also sent to the person’s email–I am writing to you, dear sister, as well as making a public comment on my blog…

    You wrote:

    “It would be interesting to know Alex, of times throughout your life when you were poor that someone reached out to you to show you kindness. Any stories to tell?”

    First, were my parents, always willing to help me even when my actions were reprehensible.

    Then, you and Janet, my angelic sisters–giving till it hurt…

    Many friends–I will never be able to repay all their kindnesses…

    Those of my own Faith–stalwart supporters in my darkest hours…

    Those of other Faiths–understanding and helping out of their love for God…

    And, I’m sure there were those behind the scenes, those I’ll never know helped me while I’m on this earth–yet, in the Sweet By-and-By, when we meet on that beautiful Shore, I will thank them…

  7. Pingback: On Holiday Spirit: Having a conversation about poverty and homelessness | Baha'i Views

  8. Alex, thank you for a thought-provoking and moving post. Poverty is one of the biggest impediments (perhaps the biggest impediment of all) to human dignity and human flourishing – which are also what human rights are about.

  9. I am financially poor. And so much so that I am in jeopardy of losing my home, if not were for my in-laws. But I have more than most. I have a stable loving marriage. More than I can say for most. My children respect me…most of the time. But all in all I am a wealthy woman.

  10. Cooking Lady,

    It’s good your in-laws are “on your side”…

    Especially wonderful you have a stable, loving marriage!!!

    The real wealth is what we pile up for our Real lives–the Next World…

Leave a Reply

